To Homeschool or Not To Homeschool? That is the question.

I have been battling with this question for half a year now. It started when I got this job as a Virtual Assistant. My first project was for the company’s grand event about homeschooling. As I go on and with work, I came to meet mommies who are homeschooling. I was very surprised that it was a big group. That here in the Philippines, many families are into homeschooling.

By then, my 3 year old was enrolled in our barangay’s day care center. I enrolled him because wanted him to become more sociable. As he grew up from a baby to a toddler he became more attached to me, became more shy and gets easily scared specially if left alone. He doesn’t want to go to school. Most of the times he was there he would just stare blankly at anything inside the room. He doesn’t like to join their school’s activity, doesn’t like to participate in class and sometimes he slept during class. Haha. But even if he is always absent, he still recalls the lessons taught to him.

With this, i thought “Maybe I can homeschool him.” I then talked to hubby and explained to him our situation. He agreed and promised to support my decision. So, I started to homeschool at first it was OK, but then I got frustrated because I thought I may not be able to teach him well, that when I will be given a full work load I might forget my responsibility to teach him, and so many other thoughts that leaves me undecided.

There are times that when we have a heart-to-heart talk, he would agree to going to school. but most of the time he would say that he doesn’t like to go to school. Even his older sisters can’t convince him of going to school. Sigh. I am really having a hard time deciding on what to do. With my two daughters, I didn’t have a hard time. I think this is maybe because I got introduced to homeschooling. As the new school year is fast approaching, this thought is bothering me a lot. I basically have no idea how to homeschool. Where do I start? What should I teach a 4-year-old?

Mommies, can you help me out? What do you suggest? I only want the best for my kids.

XOXO

3 thoughts on “To Homeschool or Not To Homeschool? That is the question.

  1. I’m also praying that I can manage to homeschool our Elijah. I think it would help to join homeschooling groups and ask questions there. Or attend discovery time to any homeschooling provider just like what we did last March. Foremost, pray if it is for you and your son to homeschool.

    Like

  2. Not everyone is called to homeschool their children. I suggest you pray about it and list down reasons why you’d like to homeschool. List down the pros and cons for your child and your family. Discuss it with your husband. Homeschooling and working (even from home) can be difficult and exhausting. You need to have big reasons and clear reasons why you want to go this route. I had been homeschooling my kids for years now (around 5) and it’s rewarding and fulfilling for me. But I have my personal reasons very clear to me. When I face difficulties, I go back to my whys and I remind myself of the fruits of our homeschooling. 🙂 Hope these suggestions would help you.

    Like

Leave a Reply

